Facebook_pixel
Goodreads

Goodreads

Goodreads

Find, get, and share books with your friends and millions of readers.

4.5 Ratings 554K+ Reviews 10M+ Downloads

Ratings & Reviews

Write a Review
  • img Community
    As a truly voracious reader, you can easily go through 10 or more books per month. Soon you may feel like you're running out of genuinely good historic fiction. Now you can get interesting recommendations based on your previous favorites, and connect with like-minded book lovers.
    img by Alice
    1 year ago
  • img Community
    Looking for the next ebook to read? Check out Goodreads for some great recommendations. This platform for bookworms has more than 1000 contents for just about everything books! Share your thoughts on your most favorite books and even score some free ebooks with their special events.
    img by Karine
    1 year ago
  • img Community
    It is the best application to find and read any kind of reading materials and any kind of books online. One can also share these books with his/her friends and also with the other readers.
    img by Renu
    1 year ago
  • img Community
    A passionate reader can possess a library of well over 3,000 books. Reading them will be a joy but cataloguing them in any meaningful order may turn out to be a pain. Goodreads will let you track all of your reading, cataloque your books, and bring some order into your home library.
    img by Sharon
    1 year ago
  • img Community
    The best way to make a profit with your ebook is still by word of mouth. GoodReads is a useful tool for authors and book lovers alike with more than 75 million users. Make lists, write and receive reviews, or let your followers know all about your latest novel with this free app.
    img by Danny
    1 year ago
  • img Community
    When you’re searching for a book with a good authentic tamale recipe, why not ask 100 people or more what their favorite cookbooks are? Goodreads gives everyone a chance to tell others about their favorite books and I’ve found some great recommendations on there using the app myself.
    img by Christina
    1 year ago
  • img Community
    If you want to maintain your book collections online, and have 100s of titles that you have read or wish to read, this tool lets you conveniently create your own list. With its barcode scanning feature, you don't have to search for the titles as you could add books directly to lists by simply scanning it.
    img by Ric
    1 year ago
  • img Community
    Whether you read 30 minutes a day or 3 hours, you don't have to do it alone. You can track your reading progress, share what you're reading with others, and even find books clubs in one convenient place.
    img by Bobae
    10 months ago
  • img Community
    A true bibliophile will sometimes read more than 50 books per year. It's easy to lose track. If you want to keep everything in order, Goodreads could help you list the books you've already gone through - and discover some interesting new titles for your future literary adventures.
    img by Sharon
    4 months ago
  • img Community
    This is one of my favorite apps. Whenever I want a recommendation for a book or I'm looking for others' opinions about a book, this is where I go. But be forewarned, you can easily spend 2-3 hours in this app without even knowing it.
    img by George
    2 months ago
  • Perfect for book lovers or casual readers. May 8, 2019

    By Momma Flan
    I usually never write reviews, but my life as a reader was totally changed after finding this app. I love books and always have, but life keeps you busy and you end up putting things aside. Well, this app has helped me find so many books I NEED to read, and it has helped me rediscover my love for reading! I really can’t think of anything to improve. I love the layout. I love the ability to make “shelves” to save books. It even lets you track the progress of books you’re reading. You can read your friends reviews or any reviews in general. I also love that they have a vote at the end of the year (or beginning, I can’t remember) for best books in SEVERAL genres and also have best of the best and whatnot. Browsing books by categories is also great because it’s helping me find different kinds of books so my reading list can be more diverse. The only complaint I have (which actually isn’t a real complaint) is that every time I click on this app, I find a million more books I want to read and there’s no way I can read them all in my lifetime.
  • Apr 21, 2021

    By Dezzi Clark
    I personally love this app. It gives you the opportunity to find new books and share books with your friends. It does glitch once in a while but nothing too horrible. I use to use Goodread online but then got the app and it was easier to use. IDEA FOR APP: If there was a little tab on every book saying if there's a movie/TV show made from the book(s) or if there's one in process of being made then it shows the info for it. I've had may times where I think "wow this would be a great movie" 💗
  • Hi Goodreads. PLEASE ADD THESE THINGS May 15, 2021

    By donaldtrumpslefttoe
    This app is wonderful. It is almost perfect. BUT every person I’ve talked to who uses Goodreads have all been in agreement it would be a GAME CHANGER if these were added: 1) A 0.5 star option. It sounds silly but it can be so frustrating deciding if a book it 4 or 5 stars. If there was a 4.5 option for example, I think all my life problems would be solved. 2) Private ratings. I’m sure if you’re an app developer you know of Letterboxd, and for me personally, if some similar features could be added to Goodreads that would make it just *chefs kiss*. For example: one of my favorite things about Letterboxd is how your ratings don’t account to a larger average rating for a movie (but in this case it would be a book). You can rate a movie and write your OWN review describing how that movie fit into your personal taste. I would love to see this on Goodreads in a way in which I could do a private review (almost like a personal diary) rather than a public rating. Sometimes i’ll read a book and recognize it’s objectively a great book, but I might give it two starts because maybe that sub-genre of fantasy romance wasn’t up my alley, so maybe that review would be nice to have in a personal journal rather than a public one because my review is sort of niche. I hope this makes sense. :))) I LOVE THIS APP!!!
  • May 2, 2021

    By Chris K
    I love this app for looking books up, reviews, tracking my books etc. I find the page count is often off by a lot (not just small variances of editions or print size), it's annoying. What I would really love, is in the area that shows the title & author, or pages & date published, could you also add the genre(s) of the book? That would be so handy without having to search or look up elsewhere. I use that feature all the time on IMDb for movies, why not have that here for books too? PLEASE ADD!🙏
  • Wonderful! Feb 8, 2018

    By Klsy303
    I don't have room in my house for a bookcase nor do I have enough money to buy all the books I love and display them in my house. Therefore, when I found goodreads I found the perfect way to create a digital bookcase with reviews and all! I simply adore it :) My only wish would be a DNF category aside from the usual ones (i.e.- "Currently Reading", "To Read", "Read"). Right now I have a handful of books on my "Read" list even though I didn't finish them. I hate taking credit for reading a book when I didn't but if I take it off my list I'll forget I tried it and try to read it later. In addition, I read many books via audiobooks and I want to update my progress under “currently reading” but I have no way of knowing what page I’m on and typing in the percentage is a pure guess. In order for this to be more accurate to where I am in the book, it might be nice to have a category that tracks what chapter or minute you’re on. If this was the case I would have a more comprehensive view of my progress throughout the read. Other than these two small tweaks I love it!
  • Forced “Read”, “Want to Read”, “Currently Reading” May 1, 2019

    By Squirrelpotpie
    UPDATE: Goodreads contacted me and suggested I make my son’s bookshelf “exclusive”, meaning books on the shelf wouldn’t be on two shelves (that one and “currently reading” at the same time). It’s exactly what I needed. Thanks Goodreads! I updated my review! Original Review: I like this app. I would like to use it for its intended purpose for my own books (meaning: marking this as read, currently reading, want to read), and also keep a “shelf” of my son’s books to share with his grandparents. It is frustrating that you are FORCED to choose “read”, “currently reading”, or “want to read” for every book—I don’t want to mark my son’s books with these tags; I just want to catalog them with a shelf. I only want to use these tags with my own books... it’s annoying that I have to see his books in “currently reading” when I just want to see mine! Please add this option so I can use this app for myself! Right now I’m “currently reading” 50 children’s books! :(
  • Apr 20, 2021

    By Kemery Myers
    I really enjoy the Goodreads app, it's simple, straightforward, and for the most part, keeps the important aspects of the website on a mobile experience. The one frustration I have is not being able to see "Update Progress" notes on the mobile app. I love looking back as I read a book to see what I found significant and I would rather look at it on the mobile app rather than on a computer. Would be a worthwhile addition!
  • Group messages cryptic Jan 5, 2018

    By zoomcity
    The app is convenient. I use it daily. There are a few things I wish the app could handle—Input on book recommendations, for instance. I am never going to read that book. Dealing with it on my phone’s tiny browser is frustrating. But that’s among the “some day” hopes, and it’s not a big deal. I wish I could quote messages to make it clear which message I’m replying to: someday, I hope. I wish I could link to books in my messages like the “big kids” do with their computers. Again, maybe in the future. They’ve recently changed the way I see group messages from the notification tab, however. I used to see the bottom of the list of messages (most recent). Now I see a random message from the middle of the thread and have to scroll down to see the newest messages. A pointless change. By far the worst feature of this app is reading messages. They frequently have words missing from the message. I don’t know why. I have to deduce the meaning. Sometimes if there’s a hyperlink in the message, resting my finger on the link will make the missing words appear. But not always, and not all messages have hyperlinks, anyway. It’s a huge deficiency.
  • Great, but could use a little tweaks May 9, 2019

    By Aaron19726
    I love this app. I use it every day. (Scroll to bottom to see reason for 4 star rating.) I love to new track of books I’ve read and what I’ve thought of them, in case a friend asks for a recommendation. I like to update what I’m currently reading as I go to see how far along I am in percentages. I also like to see what my friends have read/are reading, and what they thought of those books. I LOVE being able to make a list of books I want to read, instead of slowly typing them all out in my notes app, I can just check my list here while at the library or bookstore. However, I WISH there was a feedback submission area of the app. I’d like to be able to point out when I notice a problem. For example, I must’ve accidentally followed someone recently, but it won’t let me unfollow them. Another example, I was reading “The Help” recently and was updating it as I went. It told me I was 100% complete when I was only 90% through the book. I wish there was a feedback area so I could tell the app makers about these little problems that are probably easily fixable.
  • Apr 28, 2021

    By Cyrus Vincent
    A very handy book sorting system. Not perfect though - I have some complaints. Searches return odd results and are not intuitive as an Amazon product should be. Also, it's started serving me ads in Android push notifications which I hate, but they don't call it what it is. "'The Martian' now has notes" or "'Without Remorse' now has highlights". We know these are movies in theaters Amazon, why can't I turn off ad-related push notifications without turning them all off? I may uninstall over this.
  • Apr 22, 2021

    By Faith
    It keeps logging me out. For no reason. I press a button and it says "Need to be logged in to do that." I've logged in 3 times in the past five minutes you dummy. The problem here isn't me. Original review: A fantastic app for tracking, rating and reviewing books, but I've knocked off 3 stars for the MAJOR setback of not being able to change the edition of the book.
  • ????? Nov 24, 2019

    By The Blonde Cookie
    So, I decided to wait on the update for a day or so, because I saw a couple recent reviews that were expressing issues. I figured I was happy with status quo, and was intending to take a wait and see posture. Didn’t even click the button, then change my mind, and click it to stop it. Went to open the app tonight, because I had finished a book, and it wants me to sign in. HOW COME? Fortunately I keep a notebook with such info, but in my mind, I shouldn’t have to do so until (perhaps) I update the app. Which, as I previously stated, I haven’t done yet. I’m not looking to borrow trouble, but I hope this isn’t an indication of a problem. Anyway, you folks are generally so good at responding, I thought I’d let you know, and hope you’ll get back to me, at which point, I’ll raise the 2 stars back up to 5 stars. You’ve done so in the past, and I commend you highly for your expediency and responsiveness. The 2 stars I’m giving you is to get your attention. Your app is wonderful, and honestly, is one of only 2 on my iPhone that has (till now) been basically trouble-free. I use it all the time, and find it easy to use/intuitive, timely and filled with excellent information, (true story). Thanks for a great product. FYI, I’m running the app on an iPhone 8 Plus, with IOS 13.1.2.
  • Apr 16, 2021

    By Jarjan Fisher
    Oh wow... This is bad. The Goodreads service is great in theory, but this app is just plain horrible. Navigation is off, is slow, some buttons and links don't work or don't do what you'd expect. Just plain bad. Don't install, don't use. Sad to see Amazon destroying a good product (I'm assuming that's what's happening...)
  • Apr 30, 2021

    By Dave Sison
    Why is it that everytime I follow someone, it immediately goes back to unfollowed? And also when I open it in my browser, I can follow people (finally) but when I go back to the app it says I don't follow anyone! I'm frustrated, please help me out and fix this issue/bug/whatever. Edit: You know what, I'm starting to hate this app. Very frustrating how tiny changes could make this app perfect but NOBODY does anything about it. Please fix it.
  • This is a privacy SCAM! Nov 12, 2018

    By Excellent714
    As I sit here listening to 60 Minutes report on the abuse of private data by online social media and others. In the US we have almost zero privacy. While Europeans have total control over their own data. This app might have been good. First the forced noting a rating for at least 20 books before they will give you personal recommendations. The books are thrown on the screen with no way to tell if a member has read a book or not. Now I see where the huge numbers of people who like a book are from. It’s a time consuming process and at the end, with 60 Minutes warnings in my ear, they try to force you to allow them to share your ratings with Facebook. Facebook of all the worst sites to share any info! When I declined, the app stopped until I looked at my contacts which they also want access to. THIS IS THE WORST INVASION OF PRIVACY IVE EVER SEEN. I said no to the first batch of contacts they wanted to send ads to. What horrible people these folks are. So now I am stuck with all that work and nothing more to do with the app. DO NOT GIVE THESE PEOPLE ACCESS TO YOUR FACEBOOK ACCOUNT OR YOUR CONTACTS. THERE IS NO WAY TO KNOW WHAT THIS SNEAKY APP WILL DO WITH IT. BUT YOU SHOULD PICTURE A TIME WHEN YOU APPLY FOT A JOB AND THE POTENTIAL EMPLOYER DISLIKES YOUR BOOKS READ! Be careful and stay away from this intrusive app.
  • May 5, 2021

    By GP
    the app is quite limiting. There should be more available filters for your profile feed – for example, I don't need every book I add to my 'to-read' list to be displayed on my profile. It would also be helpful if the app would allow you to search for PEOPLE instead of just genres, titles, authors.
  • May 13, 2021

    By Brad Ludwig
    There needs to be a way to mark books as not interested. The recommendation page is filled with books I have no interest in reading. I have no idea how so many alt left recommendations are being made based on my 200+ ratings. Are my ratings even contributing to the reccomendations? The "top picks for you" page is useless to me without being able to remove the books I have no interest in.
  • Mar 12, 2021

    By Aman Kapoor
    After searching for something, we get a list of books. Now when you click on a listing, you see it's details. BUT when you press back button on phone, you are taken to the list and keyboard stays open. This is problematic. You have to press back again and do unnecessary work. If I am searching for history books, then I don't want my keyboard to be open again BECAUSE I am reading briefs of 10+ top history books.you show me. Please fix.
  • I wanted to love this app Aug 30, 2018

    By Serendipity2012
    Unfortunately, as with most forms of social media, bullies hide behind the anonymity of a keyboard and think it’s okay to say whatever mean and nasty things they want to say about a book, an author or even readers and the app owners do nothing to discourage it. Everyone’s taste in books is different. If you read something you don’t care for, write a review and explain why, or better yet, don’t waste your time reading a book you don’t like. If you must write a review, write constructively. It serves no purpose to belittle other readers for their taste in books. You lose credibility when you attack readers instead of constructively explaining any issues you have with the subject, plot, characters etc. I listened to an audio book that I really enjoyed. Compared to many of the books I’ve recently read this was a breath of fresh air. I went on Goodreads thinking I might find fellow readers who enjoyed it only to find this app filled with as much hate and bullying as twitter and other social media. I’m very disappointed and have deleted the app. People ruin most good concepts. This is nothing but reality television in app form. Treat people with kindness. Don’t spread hate.
  • May 7, 2021

    By Armitage 4926
    Broken app and on Kindle. Friend following does not work just shows not following anyone. I reported this 2 months ago and acknowledge that it is a fault but not done anything about it. want to read books disappeared. Just broken don't bother.
  • img Community
    As a truly voracious reader, you can easily go through 10 or more books per month. Soon you may feel like you're running out of genuinely good historic fiction. Now you can get interesting recommendations based on your previous favorites, and connect with like-minded book lovers.
    img by Alice
    1 year ago
  • img Community
    Looking for the next ebook to read? Check out Goodreads for some great recommendations. This platform for bookworms has more than 1000 contents for just about everything books! Share your thoughts on your most favorite books and even score some free ebooks with their special events.
    img by Karine
    1 year ago
  • img Community
    It is the best application to find and read any kind of reading materials and any kind of books online. One can also share these books with his/her friends and also with the other readers.
    img by Renu
    1 year ago
  • img Community
    A passionate reader can possess a library of well over 3,000 books. Reading them will be a joy but cataloguing them in any meaningful order may turn out to be a pain. Goodreads will let you track all of your reading, cataloque your books, and bring some order into your home library.
    img by Sharon
    1 year ago
  • img Community
    The best way to make a profit with your ebook is still by word of mouth. GoodReads is a useful tool for authors and book lovers alike with more than 75 million users. Make lists, write and receive reviews, or let your followers know all about your latest novel with this free app.
    img by Danny
    1 year ago
  • img Community
    When you’re searching for a book with a good authentic tamale recipe, why not ask 100 people or more what their favorite cookbooks are? Goodreads gives everyone a chance to tell others about their favorite books and I’ve found some great recommendations on there using the app myself.
    img by Christina
    1 year ago
  • img Community
    If you want to maintain your book collections online, and have 100s of titles that you have read or wish to read, this tool lets you conveniently create your own list. With its barcode scanning feature, you don't have to search for the titles as you could add books directly to lists by simply scanning it.
    img by Ric
    1 year ago
  • img Community
    Whether you read 30 minutes a day or 3 hours, you don't have to do it alone. You can track your reading progress, share what you're reading with others, and even find books clubs in one convenient place.
    img by Bobae
    10 months ago
  • img Community
    A true bibliophile will sometimes read more than 50 books per year. It's easy to lose track. If you want to keep everything in order, Goodreads could help you list the books you've already gone through - and discover some interesting new titles for your future literary adventures.
    img by Sharon
    4 months ago
  • img Community
    This is one of my favorite apps. Whenever I want a recommendation for a book or I'm looking for others' opinions about a book, this is where I go. But be forewarned, you can easily spend 2-3 hours in this app without even knowing it.
    img by George
    2 months ago
  • img Expert
    1. Looking to read a new book? Use this to search, rate, and review any book in a collection of over 12 million books
    2. Get introduced to new books when you use the handy scanner on barcodes to quickly access book information
    3. Find your contacts and Facebook friends on Goodreads to start sharing the next book to read

    Reviewed by Chris on February 13, 2018

  • Perfect for book lovers or casual readers. May 8, 2019

    By Momma Flan
    I usually never write reviews, but my life as a reader was totally changed after finding this app. I love books and always have, but life keeps you busy and you end up putting things aside. Well, this app has helped me find so many books I NEED to read, and it has helped me rediscover my love for reading! I really can’t think of anything to improve. I love the layout. I love the ability to make “shelves” to save books. It even lets you track the progress of books you’re reading. You can read your friends reviews or any reviews in general. I also love that they have a vote at the end of the year (or beginning, I can’t remember) for best books in SEVERAL genres and also have best of the best and whatnot. Browsing books by categories is also great because it’s helping me find different kinds of books so my reading list can be more diverse. The only complaint I have (which actually isn’t a real complaint) is that every time I click on this app, I find a million more books I want to read and there’s no way I can read them all in my lifetime.
  • Apr 21, 2021

    By Dezzi Clark
    I personally love this app. It gives you the opportunity to find new books and share books with your friends. It does glitch once in a while but nothing too horrible. I use to use Goodread online but then got the app and it was easier to use. IDEA FOR APP: If there was a little tab on every book saying if there's a movie/TV show made from the book(s) or if there's one in process of being made then it shows the info for it. I've had may times where I think "wow this would be a great movie" 💗
  • Wonderful! Feb 8, 2018

    By Klsy303
    I don't have room in my house for a bookcase nor do I have enough money to buy all the books I love and display them in my house. Therefore, when I found goodreads I found the perfect way to create a digital bookcase with reviews and all! I simply adore it :) My only wish would be a DNF category aside from the usual ones (i.e.- "Currently Reading", "To Read", "Read"). Right now I have a handful of books on my "Read" list even though I didn't finish them. I hate taking credit for reading a book when I didn't but if I take it off my list I'll forget I tried it and try to read it later. In addition, I read many books via audiobooks and I want to update my progress under “currently reading” but I have no way of knowing what page I’m on and typing in the percentage is a pure guess. In order for this to be more accurate to where I am in the book, it might be nice to have a category that tracks what chapter or minute you’re on. If this was the case I would have a more comprehensive view of my progress throughout the read. Other than these two small tweaks I love it!
  • Forced “Read”, “Want to Read”, “Currently Reading” May 1, 2019

    By Squirrelpotpie
    UPDATE: Goodreads contacted me and suggested I make my son’s bookshelf “exclusive”, meaning books on the shelf wouldn’t be on two shelves (that one and “currently reading” at the same time). It’s exactly what I needed. Thanks Goodreads! I updated my review! Original Review: I like this app. I would like to use it for its intended purpose for my own books (meaning: marking this as read, currently reading, want to read), and also keep a “shelf” of my son’s books to share with his grandparents. It is frustrating that you are FORCED to choose “read”, “currently reading”, or “want to read” for every book—I don’t want to mark my son’s books with these tags; I just want to catalog them with a shelf. I only want to use these tags with my own books... it’s annoying that I have to see his books in “currently reading” when I just want to see mine! Please add this option so I can use this app for myself! Right now I’m “currently reading” 50 children’s books! :(
  • I use it ALL THE TIME!! Jan 30, 2020

    By ❤️❤️❤️HUFFLEPUFF❤️❤️❤️
    This app is amazing. I use it all the time!! It’s fun to keep up with all of your reading and to look back at everything you've read. I love how you can tell it what page your on and it will tell you exactly how far into the book you are. The database is huge!! Even books I don’t expect to find are here. You can find books that you’ve been wanting to read, put them in a folder and when your looking for your next book you can scroll through said folder until you find one. It’s amazing, I love this app, it’s just great! One thing I do wish is, when I tell it I’ve read a book, it doesn’t mean I just finished it. There should be a different button (but next to the ‘I’ve read this book button’) that says I just finished this book; and the I’ve read this book button should just put it in the Read folder and not on my reading challenge list. The I just finished this book button should add it to the reading challenge.
  • This could be better Jun 26, 2018

    By digitaltease
    I like the app a lot. I like the fact that I can see what my friends are reading and get a perspective on a book that they loved. It also helps me find something that is worth reading.. but my problem is that I’m only limited to the friends that has been registered on Good Reads. Granted for the fact that I can invite friends but I believe this app would be better if we could follow anyone regardless of favorite author, friends and family. There are some celebrities, musicians, and also Sober bloggers that I admire and would love to see what they are reading. I think this app can be something popular if they opened it up to more celebrities or inspirational speakers. I love my friends but I want to know what Laura Mckowen, Talib Kweli, Jimmy Fallon, and more are reading. I want to see what they find as good reads for them. I also think this would expose people to more authors and help them gain more revenue for their books. So that way authors can write more books!
  • Change is important Jul 24, 2019

    By Mlu__
    Ok so... it took me a while to see a couple of things I really really wanted goodreads to change. First is that I can’t seem to edit my shelf other than change its name and delete books. But it should also let you change the order of the books and let you put them in other shelves without having to click on them and THEN adding them. E.g: you enter Want To Read and see a book you want to add to some shelf. Instead of clicking and opening EVERYTHING including the synopsis and all, you hold your finger onto the name of the book and all the shelves are available for you to insert it. Also, I’m from Brazil and constantly I check all my books to see if they gained a Brazilian edition. But some books have like, a 100 editions and it takes SO MUCH time to find a portuguese one. PLEASE let it have a box or whatever in the beginning of the page so I can search already “portuguese” and find an edition with my language.
  • Karma Apr 27, 2019

    By Buck&De
    I truly enjoyed the book due to the characters. It also had a view point of what comes around goes around. The main character, Marcy, is a tired overworked divorced women who has a truly terrible ex. The ex before divorcing her empties all of their back accounts after she puts him through his schooling to be an orthodontist. He empty’s the account designated for his daughter’s college fund and does not pay child support. He is a liar and a cheat. Marcy is glad to be rid of him, but she is upset on her daughter’s behalf as the ex ignores his daughter. The story starts with Marcy being desperate for money. She works in an casino in Las Vegas as it is a better paying job. She works double shifts just to get by. It starts with a gamer who drops a hundred dollar bill. Marcy sees it and knows she has a decision to tell the man or not. She makes the decision to tell the man and tries to give him the money back. That decision opens up a new job opportunity for her and romance. Very steamy in the sex department.
  • Mar 23, 2021

    By Rebecca Hopkins
    Really good, helpful in logging books you've read as well as star ratings and reviews. Also has a cover scanner if you don't want to type in the title. Only problem I've had is that I've had to use the cover scanner a few times because a book I was searching for didn't come up, even when I entered the full title in the search bar. Otherwise I've had no issues using it and think it's terrific!
  • Awesome!!! Aug 15, 2019

    By Jules📚
    This is the app I use most when looking at books. I love all the features in it and I like how features are still being added. •A few things I would suggest, though, are adding an option for when you are recording which days you read the book (from start to finish), to also have an option for the time. I usually know what time I started and finished a book so this would be helpful for me. And to put in settings whether you would rather have the standard “Military time” version for the time or the version where the numbers start over after twelve and use AM and PM. •Also when marking a book as “Read” I think there should be an option to click directly to the page where you record the days you read the book from start to finish. A direct click from one page to another would be very helpful for me. •The only thing that I am not so happy about is that I can’t use Goodreads when I don’t have WiFi, so if I’m eagerly trying to find a book in the car or on my school bus, I can’t look at any books because there is “no connection”. •Also, I love the fact that I can connect my Kindle Paper White to Goodreads and add in new books that I want to read, am currently reading or have just finished. It makes it so much easier!! Anyway, overall, this is an amazing app and I’ve recommended it to all my bookworm friends and I recommend it to anyone reading this!!!!
  • Hi Goodreads. PLEASE ADD THESE THINGS May 15, 2021

    By donaldtrumpslefttoe
    This app is wonderful. It is almost perfect. BUT every person I’ve talked to who uses Goodreads have all been in agreement it would be a GAME CHANGER if these were added: 1) A 0.5 star option. It sounds silly but it can be so frustrating deciding if a book it 4 or 5 stars. If there was a 4.5 option for example, I think all my life problems would be solved. 2) Private ratings. I’m sure if you’re an app developer you know of Letterboxd, and for me personally, if some similar features could be added to Goodreads that would make it just *chefs kiss*. For example: one of my favorite things about Letterboxd is how your ratings don’t account to a larger average rating for a movie (but in this case it would be a book). You can rate a movie and write your OWN review describing how that movie fit into your personal taste. I would love to see this on Goodreads in a way in which I could do a private review (almost like a personal diary) rather than a public rating. Sometimes i’ll read a book and recognize it’s objectively a great book, but I might give it two starts because maybe that sub-genre of fantasy romance wasn’t up my alley, so maybe that review would be nice to have in a personal journal rather than a public one because my review is sort of niche. I hope this makes sense. :))) I LOVE THIS APP!!!
  • May 2, 2021

    By Chris K
    I love this app for looking books up, reviews, tracking my books etc. I find the page count is often off by a lot (not just small variances of editions or print size), it's annoying. What I would really love, is in the area that shows the title & author, or pages & date published, could you also add the genre(s) of the book? That would be so handy without having to search or look up elsewhere. I use that feature all the time on IMDb for movies, why not have that here for books too? PLEASE ADD!🙏
  • Apr 20, 2021

    By Kemery Myers
    I really enjoy the Goodreads app, it's simple, straightforward, and for the most part, keeps the important aspects of the website on a mobile experience. The one frustration I have is not being able to see "Update Progress" notes on the mobile app. I love looking back as I read a book to see what I found significant and I would rather look at it on the mobile app rather than on a computer. Would be a worthwhile addition!
  • Great, but could use a little tweaks May 9, 2019

    By Aaron19726
    I love this app. I use it every day. (Scroll to bottom to see reason for 4 star rating.) I love to new track of books I’ve read and what I’ve thought of them, in case a friend asks for a recommendation. I like to update what I’m currently reading as I go to see how far along I am in percentages. I also like to see what my friends have read/are reading, and what they thought of those books. I LOVE being able to make a list of books I want to read, instead of slowly typing them all out in my notes app, I can just check my list here while at the library or bookstore. However, I WISH there was a feedback submission area of the app. I’d like to be able to point out when I notice a problem. For example, I must’ve accidentally followed someone recently, but it won’t let me unfollow them. Another example, I was reading “The Help” recently and was updating it as I went. It told me I was 100% complete when I was only 90% through the book. I wish there was a feedback area so I could tell the app makers about these little problems that are probably easily fixable.
  • Perfect! Just missing one thing... Dec 7, 2017

    By BetterThanItSounds
    I love this app! I love that you can scan books into it for easy cataloging, I love that I can use it while doing unnecessary book shopping to make sure I don’t buy what I already have. I love that I can update my progress on books in the app. It’s literally missing just one thing - the ability to enter dates on my activity for a book showing I’ve re-read it. I know I can edit when I first started and finished a book, but I can’t add more dates as I re-read books, which is all I tend to be doing lately. I know I can add these dates on the site (which, tbh it’s really difficult to get to the page I need to enter re-read dates, so that could be improved, too), but, while a majority of my books are actually physical books, I do have a lot of kindle and audio books that I consume on my phone, so when I finish them, it would be nice to be able to update my activity with a re-read date while I’ve already got my nose stuck in front of my phone. My rating is a 4 out of 5, but I will gladly give it a perfect 5 if that missing feature can be added!
  • Love it. That said, there’s much potential for growth May 13, 2019

    By Sjellie
    This is my go to app for bookmarking (haha) books I want to read and check out what my friends and other people are reading. The shelves, the ability to read and create reviews, browsing for books, and creating a book challenge for the year are really nice, and it feels great to move a book from in progress to read. That said, the social aspect of the app doesn’t seem to be fully in touch with the other areas. I wish there were a way customize the feed you see. The friend list doesn’t seem to really refresh outside of when you first sync the app to your fb account, you can’t cancel friend requests, can’t unfollow people, and you still get a feed for people who are no longer exist on your friend list. The basic features work, and I guess there’s no other app like GoodReads yet, but the social features could be developed and polished more to give a more streamlined app. Apart from all wishful thinking, I am still thankful for this :)
  • Group messages cryptic Jan 5, 2018

    By zoomcity
    The app is convenient. I use it daily. There are a few things I wish the app could handle—Input on book recommendations, for instance. I am never going to read that book. Dealing with it on my phone’s tiny browser is frustrating. But that’s among the “some day” hopes, and it’s not a big deal. I wish I could quote messages to make it clear which message I’m replying to: someday, I hope. I wish I could link to books in my messages like the “big kids” do with their computers. Again, maybe in the future. They’ve recently changed the way I see group messages from the notification tab, however. I used to see the bottom of the list of messages (most recent). Now I see a random message from the middle of the thread and have to scroll down to see the newest messages. A pointless change. By far the worst feature of this app is reading messages. They frequently have words missing from the message. I don’t know why. I have to deduce the meaning. Sometimes if there’s a hyperlink in the message, resting my finger on the link will make the missing words appear. But not always, and not all messages have hyperlinks, anyway. It’s a huge deficiency.
  • Apr 28, 2021

    By Cyrus Vincent
    A very handy book sorting system. Not perfect though - I have some complaints. Searches return odd results and are not intuitive as an Amazon product should be. Also, it's started serving me ads in Android push notifications which I hate, but they don't call it what it is. "'The Martian' now has notes" or "'Without Remorse' now has highlights". We know these are movies in theaters Amazon, why can't I turn off ad-related push notifications without turning them all off? I may uninstall over this.
  • Apr 23, 2021

    By Olivia
    Overall a good app with some glitches. I have a hard time switching the status of books on my shelves between want to read, currently reading, and read which is the primary function of this app for me and can be frustrating. But it's a great way to look up books, new reads and connect with friends.
  • Great for keeping track May 21, 2019

    By Bex0619
    Goodreads is a great app for keeping track of what you’ve read. BUT, the reviews are inaccurate. If someone doesn’t like a certain author, they gather their “squad” and give it a bunch of one star reviews and start bashing the book before it’s even released TO ANYONE, Including Beta readers or Bloggers. I’ve been in the book world for 6 years and have seen this time and time again. On the flip side, the same can be said for diluted books theat have never been out of the authors hands with 5 star reviews and raving and bragging how great the book is (they never read) Don’t get me wrong, there are some books that are that bad, however, how can they be judged before anyone has laid eyes on them 🤷🏻‍♀️ IF YOU WANT AN APP TO KEEP UP WITH WHAT YOU HAVE READ OR WANT TO READ OR HAVE READ with nifty little shelves, this is the app for YOU. If you aren’t interested in grown ups acting like child, stalking, false reviews and all the other BS that comes with it, I wouldn’t waste my time OR you can just ignore it like I do 🖤 I mostly just keep my shelves on my Paperwhite now but when it asked me to review it, how could I not share my honest opinion
  • Apr 14, 2021

    By Clair Oster
    For adding books the app is fine but if you want to add dates read it gets tricky. I liked it when you had your list of books and on the right side you chose read dates. Instead you have to click on the book, then click read dates, then choose a date, then click back a few times to start all over. That's time consuming. The point of apps is to be less time consuming.
  • Something is wrong with the “add/edit dates read” feature Jul 2, 2020

    By meowitsmolly
    Anytime I read a book that I’ve read before, the activity history doesn’t reflect the new dates. It will list the first time I read the book and the second time I read the book, but it will continue to say “the last read on” date is the first time I read it. When you click “add/edit dates read” it lists both sets of dates read, but when i click on “see all activity on this book” and then click “edit review” it only lists the first date read and nothing else. Even when I try to edit that date it won’t reflect the change. Even when I’ve deleted the entry of the original dates just to test it out, it still only lists the original dates in the “edit review” section and on the main page for the book for the “last date read”. This has happened to me on multiple books and it just doesn’t make any sense that the section for the “add/edit dates read” doesn’t sync up with the “see all your activity on this book”. It drives me a little bit insane honestly.
  • May 11, 2021

    By Dazp Dazp
    It's not a bad application overall, but its the little things that let it down, one being when you do a title search there is no option to refine your 7000 results, such as by, Star Rating, Genre, Reviews, Year ect.
  • Past Challenges Info Changed Retroactively Dec 1, 2019

    By Midnightlouise
    I've always re-read my favorite books, not only because they're like old friends, but also to aid with anxiety. This challenge is simply a way for me to keep track of what I read each year, not to impress people with my literary prowess. But I digress... In previous years, there was not a good way to count books that you'd re-read unless you changed the dates, making it look like a new book. Now that we can put dates in for re-reads, and the app is showing past challenges, it's only counting the last time I read the book, which has changed the results of my past challenges retroactively. The update has applied new rules to periods in which those rules did not exist. In order for it to display the correct information -correct as of the year it occurred- I'll have to go in and add dates to all the books I have re-read since the actual re-read feature was implemented. Since we're talking 3 years and hundreds of books, this is going to be a huge pain in the neck. I'm not a happy girl.
  • Apr 22, 2021

    By Faith
    It keeps logging me out. For no reason. I press a button and it says "Need to be logged in to do that." I've logged in 3 times in the past five minutes you dummy. The problem here isn't me. Original review: A fantastic app for tracking, rating and reviewing books, but I've knocked off 3 stars for the MAJOR setback of not being able to change the edition of the book.
  • ????? Nov 24, 2019

    By The Blonde Cookie
    So, I decided to wait on the update for a day or so, because I saw a couple recent reviews that were expressing issues. I figured I was happy with status quo, and was intending to take a wait and see posture. Didn’t even click the button, then change my mind, and click it to stop it. Went to open the app tonight, because I had finished a book, and it wants me to sign in. HOW COME? Fortunately I keep a notebook with such info, but in my mind, I shouldn’t have to do so until (perhaps) I update the app. Which, as I previously stated, I haven’t done yet. I’m not looking to borrow trouble, but I hope this isn’t an indication of a problem. Anyway, you folks are generally so good at responding, I thought I’d let you know, and hope you’ll get back to me, at which point, I’ll raise the 2 stars back up to 5 stars. You’ve done so in the past, and I commend you highly for your expediency and responsiveness. The 2 stars I’m giving you is to get your attention. Your app is wonderful, and honestly, is one of only 2 on my iPhone that has (till now) been basically trouble-free. I use it all the time, and find it easy to use/intuitive, timely and filled with excellent information, (true story). Thanks for a great product. FYI, I’m running the app on an iPhone 8 Plus, with IOS 13.1.2.
  • Apr 30, 2021

    By Dave Sison
    Why is it that everytime I follow someone, it immediately goes back to unfollowed? And also when I open it in my browser, I can follow people (finally) but when I go back to the app it says I don't follow anyone! I'm frustrated, please help me out and fix this issue/bug/whatever. Edit: You know what, I'm starting to hate this app. Very frustrating how tiny changes could make this app perfect but NOBODY does anything about it. Please fix it.
  • May 5, 2021

    By GP
    the app is quite limiting. There should be more available filters for your profile feed – for example, I don't need every book I add to my 'to-read' list to be displayed on my profile. It would also be helpful if the app would allow you to search for PEOPLE instead of just genres, titles, authors.
  • Mar 12, 2021

    By Aman Kapoor
    After searching for something, we get a list of books. Now when you click on a listing, you see it's details. BUT when you press back button on phone, you are taken to the list and keyboard stays open. This is problematic. You have to press back again and do unnecessary work. If I am searching for history books, then I don't want my keyboard to be open again BECAUSE I am reading briefs of 10+ top history books.you show me. Please fix.
  • Apr 16, 2021

    By Jarjan Fisher
    Oh wow... This is bad. The Goodreads service is great in theory, but this app is just plain horrible. Navigation is off, is slow, some buttons and links don't work or don't do what you'd expect. Just plain bad. Don't install, don't use. Sad to see Amazon destroying a good product (I'm assuming that's what's happening...)
  • This is a privacy SCAM! Nov 12, 2018

    By Excellent714
    As I sit here listening to 60 Minutes report on the abuse of private data by online social media and others. In the US we have almost zero privacy. While Europeans have total control over their own data. This app might have been good. First the forced noting a rating for at least 20 books before they will give you personal recommendations. The books are thrown on the screen with no way to tell if a member has read a book or not. Now I see where the huge numbers of people who like a book are from. It’s a time consuming process and at the end, with 60 Minutes warnings in my ear, they try to force you to allow them to share your ratings with Facebook. Facebook of all the worst sites to share any info! When I declined, the app stopped until I looked at my contacts which they also want access to. THIS IS THE WORST INVASION OF PRIVACY IVE EVER SEEN. I said no to the first batch of contacts they wanted to send ads to. What horrible people these folks are. So now I am stuck with all that work and nothing more to do with the app. DO NOT GIVE THESE PEOPLE ACCESS TO YOUR FACEBOOK ACCOUNT OR YOUR CONTACTS. THERE IS NO WAY TO KNOW WHAT THIS SNEAKY APP WILL DO WITH IT. BUT YOU SHOULD PICTURE A TIME WHEN YOU APPLY FOT A JOB AND THE POTENTIAL EMPLOYER DISLIKES YOUR BOOKS READ! Be careful and stay away from this intrusive app.
  • May 13, 2021

    By Brad Ludwig
    There needs to be a way to mark books as not interested. The recommendation page is filled with books I have no interest in reading. I have no idea how so many alt left recommendations are being made based on my 200+ ratings. Are my ratings even contributing to the reccomendations? The "top picks for you" page is useless to me without being able to remove the books I have no interest in.
  • I wanted to love this app Aug 30, 2018

    By Serendipity2012
    Unfortunately, as with most forms of social media, bullies hide behind the anonymity of a keyboard and think it’s okay to say whatever mean and nasty things they want to say about a book, an author or even readers and the app owners do nothing to discourage it. Everyone’s taste in books is different. If you read something you don’t care for, write a review and explain why, or better yet, don’t waste your time reading a book you don’t like. If you must write a review, write constructively. It serves no purpose to belittle other readers for their taste in books. You lose credibility when you attack readers instead of constructively explaining any issues you have with the subject, plot, characters etc. I listened to an audio book that I really enjoyed. Compared to many of the books I’ve recently read this was a breath of fresh air. I went on Goodreads thinking I might find fellow readers who enjoyed it only to find this app filled with as much hate and bullying as twitter and other social media. I’m very disappointed and have deleted the app. People ruin most good concepts. This is nothing but reality television in app form. Treat people with kindness. Don’t spread hate.
  • May 7, 2021

    By Armitage 4926
    Broken app and on Kindle. Friend following does not work just shows not following anyone. I reported this 2 months ago and acknowledge that it is a fault but not done anything about it. want to read books disappeared. Just broken don't bother.
  • May 4, 2021

    By HaydenJJM
    This app just does not work. At all. It's so rare that I'd rather use the mobile desktop website over an app, but 99% of the time using this app results in 'Sorry, something went wrong.' Unusable.
  • Apr 27, 2021

    By Andrea N.
    This app glitches so hard. Never shows all the graphics. Users should have more control. It is horrible that I have to use a desktop version to unfollow authors and jump through hoops to do that. Listen to your users and fix the issues people have been complaining about for YEARS!
  • Apr 2, 2021

    By Larissa Ortega
    I downloaded this app after reading from other avid readers how it was amazing and useful for tracking your progress and keeping tabs on the book challenge... But it doesn't do more. You can't enter books that aren't in the catalog unless you sign into the website, the cover scanning functionality has never worked for me, and there are times where you can't even find the book you're reading to include it in your reading list. Also, the interface is very confusing and impractical. Won't recommend

What’s Groovy

What’s Subpar

Loading...